jump to navigation

Zoned October 2, 2007

Posted by amybeth in Life.
trackback

Some of you are probably wondering if I’ve disappeared from cyberspace altogether. Nope…but I have been excessively busy. Not only do I have courses at University, but I’m doing a thesis this year, preparing applications for grad school, and I’ve taken on the role of youth leader at church. So…I’ve got a lot on my plate.

Case in point to illustrate just how brain-logged I must be. This morning I’m driving to school and I stopped at an intersection for a red light. I’m sitting there thinking away, semi-alert for when the light turns green. A car honking behind me brings me out of my reverie to realize that I am actually at a four way stop a block before I even get to the red light and that it was my turn to go a long time ago. Whoops. I felt a bit sheepish.

Any crazy zoned stories?

(Total side story…just something I thought was hilarious the other day. I’m sitting at Webster’s Falls enjoying a bit of solitude when these two young ladies walk by where I’m at. The one has a camera and the other is in what looks like a wedding or prom dress of some kind. They are trying to find unique shots and are even venturing knee deep into the creek and such to get them. I finally, out of curiosity, ask them what they are doing…are they actually taking photos for a special event or is this a photo student practicing with a friend as a model. They reply that this is called ‘Trash the Dress’. Apparently, the girl in the dress had been married shortly before but had been frustrated at the conservative, ‘safe’ nature of her wedding photos due to the necessity of preserving her dress for the reception, etc. So now that the wedding was over, she was out with a friend getting all the crazy shots she couldn’t get before. I thought that was hilarious…and kind of neat.)

Comments»

1. patti - October 3, 2007

That “trash the dress” thing is hilarious! Did she have her hair all done up too, just like on her wedding day? And…um…was the groom in any of these pictures?

2. amybeth - October 3, 2007

She looked all done up to me, but then I wasn’t there on her wedding day so I don’t know if it was the same. Nope…no groom anywhere in sight.

3. kelly - October 4, 2007

That’s a better “trash the dress” episode than some of the news stories I’ve seen of late … where people who are recently divorced are essentially having “UN-Wedding” days … crawling through garbage or down dirty streets in the dress they were married in.

crazy money on dresses … that’s why my theory is “run-away … run-away!” 🙂

4. patti - October 4, 2007

kelly – is that your personal plan?

🙂

5. kelly - October 4, 2007

you mean the “run-away” plan?

that would be a giant YEP!

🙂

6. patti - October 6, 2007

Interesting….I’m going to have to keep an eye on you.

You could use my plan – I bought a $700 dress for $99.

(Which my Grandma still thought was a bit much for a dress you were only going to wear once.)

7. Hamameliss - October 7, 2007

Hmm, I think there were a couple of times my father offered me money to elope…not that I have anyone I am interested in at the moment, but sometimes the idea is rather tempting.

8. patti - October 9, 2007

My Dad offered me a ladder during our engagement.

No money though.


Leave a Reply

