jump to navigation

Grocery Shopping 101 September 6, 2007

Posted by amybeth in Life.
trackback

Okay…so yesterday I went grocery shopping at the Fortinos closest to the University. I think I’ve only been shopping there at this time of year once before, so I’d forgotten what it was like. There were no single shoppers…just groups. Either the group was a set of roommates haggling over what they needed or the best brand, trying valiantly to shopy by consensus. Or it was parents shopping with their teenager extending advice about what to buy and sometimes running into interesting roadblocks when they discovered, for example, that their child had decided to go with Soy milk instead of regular. The students all walked around with this sort of stunned, bug-eyed look. In one conversation I overheard, a student was exclaiming at how many shelves of a certain type of product there were compared to the tiny section of that same thing in their local grocery store. Culture shock at Fortinos!

I totally sympathize with their plight and how overwhelmed they must be, how nervous on their behalf the parents must be. And yet I have no compunction about recieving a measure of amusement at their expense. What can I say…it was funny! 

I don’t think I ever had that sudden of a change because even before I left home I was expected to do my own grocery shopping. So I could venture into that area of responsibility while my mom was still around to consult later. How about you…any school or living on your own culture shock stories?

Comments»

1. patti - September 6, 2007

haha! I’ve been in that very Fortinos, and I see the same thing at the beginning of every semester!

They’re so huddled together and intense.

I laugh too. 🙂

2. Hamameliss - September 8, 2007

Hmm, I have been in that kind of culture shock before – it was after I lived in Israel for 3 years and came back to the US for a few rotations. I stayed at an International house with a couple of medical students from Kenya. The secretary of the program took us to the local grocery store (Kansas City), and asked me to help out the Kenyan students, because alot of international students have trouble with the wide variety and overwhelming quantity in US grocery stores. I found myself in one of the aisles trying to buy shampoo and the Kenyan students had to calm me down, because I felt like I was standing in front of endless shelves of shampoo (that I could read the labels on) and I just kept whispering to myself, “I just want something to clean my hair!”. Yeah, just a little bit of return culture shock! 🙂

3. patti - September 8, 2007

I still do that in the cereal aisle.

And in Starbucks…”I just want a coffee”.


Leave a Reply

