jump to navigation

Hitchhiker June 22, 2007

Posted by amybeth in Life.
trackback

Hmm…well, to start with, I had a really hard time typing that title…doesn’t it seem like its spelled weird with the two h’s together.  But I checked…and its right.

 Anyways…to the story.

The other day I was sitting in my school library with my backpack nearby. I happened to glance down at my bag and notice that it seemed to be moving. On closer inspection, I realized that a caterpillar had attached itself to the front. And it wouldn’t budge (their numerous legs give them an awfully good grip).  After an initial panic (I’m getting better at dealing with bugs but I can’t seem to stifle that instinctive shudder that goes through me), I decided to carry the bag outside (holding it far away from me) and find a stick to entice the catepillar away. 

As I was walking, someone looked at me strange, and I commented that I had picked up a hitchhiker.  It just came out…and as soon as I said it I chuckled to myself.  It was so appropo (is that a word?).  But of course, the person I said it too just looked at me even stranger.

In case anyone is wondering, I did manage to get the caterpillar off and leave him in a grassy space. 

Comments»

1. Hamameliss - June 23, 2007

Yes, apropos is a word,(just spelled funny)…(your local walking dictionary)…

2. patti - June 27, 2007

Hmmm…so with all your hitchhiker’s limbs, did he use one to stick out a thumb?


Leave a Reply

