jump to navigation

Psalms 51 February 5, 2007

Posted by amybeth in Deep.
trackback

I read the phrase today in Psalm 51 which says “you desire truth in the inner parts; you teach me wisdom in the inmost place”.

Over the last couple of weeks I have been crying out to God for more faith, recognizing that I must go past head knowledge to a deep seated conviction…and that I’m not going to get there by ‘thinking’ more. And I have sensed him answering me. There are certain areas (not a lot…but a few) where I have a growing peace and confidence in God and his work in my life, conclusions I seem to have come to but I can’t trace the logical deduction process.

This verse in Psalms 51 seemed to synthesize that experience with my comments in an earlier post about the difference between fact and truth (ie. fact – walking on water is impossible, truth – Jesus did it; fact – I feel very insecure and alone at times, truth – God is always with me). I have long sought truth both because I want to know what’s up, but also because I want to please God. But truth is an ‘inner being’ thing, not a head thing. I’ve been seeking the right thing, but in the wrong place.

I’m not dismissing the need to be intellectually responsible and investigate things, but I’m beginning to grasp the idea that the facts I hold in my mind do not equal truth. Facts must be transformed into truth in my spirit, my ‘inner parts’ – and only God can do that.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

