jump to navigation

Rhythms of Life December 8, 2006

Posted by amybeth in Uncategorized.
trackback

I spontaneously wrote the byline to my blog “Waiting, cocooned and hidden…fluttering free, beautiful…rhythms of life” and then realized how apt it was. I have struggled to define myself…sometimes feeling invisible, hidden, waiting for God to do something…sometimes feeling as if I’m on a roll, moving forward, making progress. Somehow I’ve defined the first as bad and the second as good, the first as past and the second as where I’m to live from now on. But I’ve begun to realize that there are truly rhythms to life and each plays an important role. I need both the quiet, introspective moments, the moments where its just God and me, the moments of questions and doubts that drive me deeper in my search of truth along with the moments of breakthrough where I have the energy and the drive to apply the things I’ve learned, to move forward and see God’s kingdom established in areas of my own life and the lives of others where it was not able to penetrate before.

As Ecclesiastes says, there is a time:

to tear down and a time to build up

a time to weep and a time to laugh

a time to mourn and a time to dance

a time to embrace and a time to refrain

a time to search and a time to give up

a time to tear and a time to mend

a time to be silent and a time to speak

Do you have particular rhythms that characterize your life? Have you accepted and embraced them or do you struggle with thinking there’s a particular ‘happy, everything is okay’ place you have to achieve?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

