jump to navigation

Is God Kind? December 8, 2006

Posted by amybeth in God.
trackback

I read a book today where the author described God as the kindest person he had ever met. Somehow that really struck me because I’m not sure I’ve ever viewed God that way. I certainly haven’t viewed him as ‘unkind’ per say, but ‘kind’ and ‘God’ have never quite gone together for me.

A friend of mine posted a blog entry about how being kind is more important than being right. I argued in a comment that being loving is more important that being right, but that sometimes, being loving doesn’t always come across as kind (think ‘tough love’). I think I’ve always viewed God as both loving and right but in a way that my character growth is more important than my feelings…and that would seem to go against one definition of kindness as being considerate . And yet, in Corinthians, one of the characteristics of love is kindness. To be perfectly honest, I’m not sure what ‘kind’ means.  What is kindness? And what does it mean for God to be kind?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

