jump to navigation

Jesus of Joy May 18, 2006

Posted by amybeth in God, Old Blog.
trackback

The other night I watched Godspell for the first time. I can just imagine what people said when it first came out long, long ago. The sheer joy and silliness that characterizes Jesus and his playful followers must have seemed like sheer heresy to some. Yet, I loved it. I want the Jesus I know and follow to be like that – one who loves to have fun, use imagination, play, skip and leap, joke and yet through it all has a serious message of reality to share. Thats the kind of Jesus I could love. And my guess is Jesus is more like that than we think. Not so much the stiff, somber, always thinking about sacrifice and doom and sin and repentance person that we portray Jesus to be. How can we know? God would you show me the real Jesus. I don’t want to dismiss the serious aspects of following you and the deep spiritual messages that Jesus taught, but I think they come packaged in a lot more joy than we imagine.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

